Vile Dog Transformation

School transmutation (polymorph) [evil]; Level antipaladin 3, cleric 5, druid 5, shaman 5, sorcerer/wizard 5, witch 5


Casting Time 10 minutes
Components V, S, M (a strip of leather)


Range touch
Target one or more dogs touched
Duration 1 hour/level
Saving Throw Will negates (see text); Spell Resistance no


You transform one or more dogs into evil, monstrous creatures.

Each dog can attempt a Will save to negate the transformation, but if the dog trusts you (it has been trained by you for a purpose, or has been in your care for at least 30 days and generally treated well), it takes a –4 penalty on this saving throw. Each transformed dog has the same stats as a hell hound except that it doesn’t have fire immunity and cold vulnerability and instead has acid, cold, and fire resistance 5. Additionally, each transformed dog deals an extra 1d6 points of acid damage with its bite attack (instead of fire damage), and its breath weapon is replaced with a vaporous cloud that spreads out in front of the creature in a 10-foot cone, dealing 2d4 points of acid damage. The creature can’t understand Infernal but understands any languages you know. The dog is normally neutral evil, but is chaotic evil if you are chaotic or lawful evil if you are lawful.

For every 3 caster levels you have, you can transform one dog (to a maximum of five dogs at 15th level). At the end of the spell’s duration, the dogs immediately dissolve into a stinking pile of gore and bones.

You can command the creature in the same way you would a creature you summoned via a summon monster spell. If you buy dogs to use with this spell, they cost 15 gp for a lap dog, 25 gp for a guard dog, or 150 gp for a riding dog. Any kind of dog can be transformed by this spell and has the same statistics.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Horror Adventures © 2016, Paizo Inc.; Authors: John Bennett, Clinton J. Boomer, Logan Bonner, Robert Brookes, Jason Bulmahn, Ross Byers, Jim Groves, Steven Helt, Thurston Hillman, Eric Hindley, Brandon Hodge, Mikko Kallio, Jason Nelson, Tom Phillips, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Alistair Rigg, Alex Riggs, David N. Ross, F. Wesley Schneider, David Schwartz, Mark Seifter, and Linda Zayas-Palmer.

scroll to top