Shadow Snare

School transmutation [shadow]; Level shadowsworn 3, sorcerer/wizard 3


Casting Time 1 standard action
Components S


Range Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect one shadow
Duration 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no


When cast on a normal shadow (not a creature or magical effect), this spell transforms it into a long, thick tentacle. The tentacle stays rooted to the caster (or to the point on the wall or floor where it originally fell, if the shadow is not connected to you), but can extend 5 ft. per level to attack an opponent.

The tentacle is intangible. Attempts to physically sever or break it simply pass right through it, while the shadow instantly reforms itself or flows around interposing objects.

When shadow snare is cast, the tentacle attacks any target you indicate during the spell’s casting. A successful touch attack means the shadow has entangled a victim (the tentacle seems quite solid to the victim). An entangled victim suffers �2 to attack rolls and a �4 penalty to effective Dexterity. An entangled spellcaster must make a DC 15 concentration check to cast a spell.

Since the animated shadow is considered anchored, it can hold a victim motionless if you desire. Otherwise, the victim can move at half speed up to the length of the shadow away from the shadow’s anchor point. A standard action allows you to indicate a new target.

If the victim is attacked by his own shadow, he cannot be held motionless by it, but the penalty to attack rolls is �3 and to effective Dexterity is �6.

Strength and Escape Artist checks (DC 15 + your caster level) can be used to break free of the entanglement.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Deep Magic. � 2014 Open Design LLC. Authors: Wolfgang Baur, Tom Benton, Creighton Broadhurst, Jason Bulmahn, Ross Byers, Charles Lee Carrier, Tim Connors, Adam Daigle, Jonathan Drain, Mike Franke, Ed Greenwood, Frank Gori, Jim Groves, Amanda Hamon Kunz, Sam Harris, Brandon Hodge, Phillip Larwood, Jeff Lee, John Ling, Jr., Chris Lozaga, Ben McFarland, Nicholas Milasich, Carlos Ovalle, Richard Pett, Marc Radle, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Wade Rockett, Stephen Rowe, Adam Roy, Amber E. Scott, Neil Spicer, Owen K.C. Stephens, Joshua Stevens, Christina Stiles, Matt Stinson, Stefen Styrsky, Dan Voyce, and Mike Welham.

scroll to top