Necromancer’s Ripost

School necromancy [acid, force, poison]; Level sorcerer/wizard 8


Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (jade and onyx dust worth 500 gp)


Range close (25 feet + 5 ft./level)
Area 20 ft. radius + 5 ft./2 levels
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw see text; Spell Resistance no


You compel corporeal undead to explode in a burst of vile, acidic pus, killing them instantly. The spell affects 1d4 HD worth of undead creatures per caster level (maximum 20d4). Creatures with the fewest HD are affected first; among creatures with equal HD, those closest to the burst’s point of origin are affected first. Undead you command with the Command Undead feat receive no save. Other undead receive a Fortitude save, or suffer 2d6 hp damage. Those destroyed by damage still explode.

Anyone adjacent to an undead creature destroyed by this spell suffers 4d6 hp acid and force damage (Reflex save for half) from the splash. Those damaged by this splash effect must make a Fortitude save or suffer the effects of a strength-sapping poison. (Fort DC equal to this spell’s; 1/round for 6 rounds; initial effect: 1 Strength drain; secondary effect: 1d2 Strength damage; Cure: 1 save.) Those adjacent to multiple exploding foes suffer splash damage from each exploding creature.

Undead destroyed by this splash effect do not explode.

Undead casters may use this spell without risk to themselves; the primary and splash effects do not affect the caster. This spell may be cast through a scrying effect.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Deep Magic. � 2014 Open Design LLC. Authors: Wolfgang Baur, Tom Benton, Creighton Broadhurst, Jason Bulmahn, Ross Byers, Charles Lee Carrier, Tim Connors, Adam Daigle, Jonathan Drain, Mike Franke, Ed Greenwood, Frank Gori, Jim Groves, Amanda Hamon Kunz, Sam Harris, Brandon Hodge, Phillip Larwood, Jeff Lee, John Ling, Jr., Chris Lozaga, Ben McFarland, Nicholas Milasich, Carlos Ovalle, Richard Pett, Marc Radle, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Wade Rockett, Stephen Rowe, Adam Roy, Amber E. Scott, Neil Spicer, Owen K.C. Stephens, Joshua Stevens, Christina Stiles, Matt Stinson, Stefen Styrsky, Dan Voyce, and Mike Welham.

scroll to top