Curse Of Boreas

School transmutation [cold, evil]; Level cleric/oracle 6, sorcerer/wizard 6, witch 6


Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, DF


Range Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Target one corporeal creature
Duration permanent
Saving Throw Fort negates; Spell Resistance yes


The target and its equipment are frozen solid, becoming a physically inert statue of ice. If the target is broken or damaged while frozen, it suffers similar damage or deformity when returned to a non-frozen original state.

While the target cannot move, mental activity does not cease and the target still registers as alive for spells such as deathwatch. Dispel magic cannot end this spell, although casting both it and remove curse allow the target to speak (but not move or cast spells) for 1 round per caster level.

Break enchantment or more potent magic is needed to free a creature from the ice.

Boreas, God of the North Wind, and some of his followers can use greater scrying at will to spy through the target’s senses. The target receives no saving throw or spell resistance against this effect. Those touching a frozen target may also request a mental audience with Boreas through the magic of this spell.

Use the scrying rules to represent getting Boreas’ attention, except that the character may not cast any spells through the link (although Boreas can as if it were greater scrying). Prolonged imprisonment via this spell may result, at the GM’s discretion, in a target suffering from madness or despair. Creatures imprisoned indefinitely with this spell receive a new Fortitude save each month.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Deep Magic. � 2014 Open Design LLC. Authors: Wolfgang Baur, Tom Benton, Creighton Broadhurst, Jason Bulmahn, Ross Byers, Charles Lee Carrier, Tim Connors, Adam Daigle, Jonathan Drain, Mike Franke, Ed Greenwood, Frank Gori, Jim Groves, Amanda Hamon Kunz, Sam Harris, Brandon Hodge, Phillip Larwood, Jeff Lee, John Ling, Jr., Chris Lozaga, Ben McFarland, Nicholas Milasich, Carlos Ovalle, Richard Pett, Marc Radle, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Wade Rockett, Stephen Rowe, Adam Roy, Amber E. Scott, Neil Spicer, Owen K.C. Stephens, Joshua Stevens, Christina Stiles, Matt Stinson, Stefen Styrsky, Dan Voyce, and Mike Welham.

scroll to top