Home >Extras >Custom Creations >Jack Cameron’s Lab >

Weapons (and Weapon Enhancements)


Combat Grappling Hook
The combat grappling hook resembles the simple tool found in most common adventurer’s kits. This combat version however has been weighted, balanced, and sharpened to allow it to be thrown at a target, damaging it and potentially dragging it to the ground or ripping weaponry out of its hands.

The grappling hook is usually attached to a strong rope or chain. This rope or chain can be any length, and the length determines the maximum range of the grappling hook. Regardless of this maximum range, the grappling hook’s effective range increment is 15 feet, when using it to attack in combat. Because of the extra rope attached to the grappling hook portion, this weapon requires two hands to use.

When the hook is thrown, the attacker must choose to either deal bludgeoning damage or piercing damage. After every attack, the hook must be recalled to the attacker using a swift action, and cannot be used to attack again until it has been recalled.

A combat grappling hook can also be used as a climbing aid, as with a normal grappling hook.

A character who is proficient in the use of a combat grappling hook can recall it as a free action. Additionally, a character who is proficient with a combat grappling hook can use it to make Disarm and Trip maneuver attempts, and can add any enhancement bonus to attacks from the grappling hook to their CMB for these attempts.

On a successful trip attempt, the attacking character can choose not to recall the grappling hook. In this instance, the targeted creature becomes entangled, and must succeed a strength check to break the line (DC is based on the type of material attached to the grappling hook) or an Escape Artist check (DC equal to the Combat Maneuver roll for the initial trip attempt) in order to break free.

Optional Rule: A combat grappling hook is a two-handed weapon because the off-hand must hold the extra slack in whatever rope or chain is attached to the grappling hook. However, a character proficient with combat grappling hooks can still wield a light one-handed weapon in the off-hand. Doing so incurs penalties as if the character were two-weapon fighting without a light weapon in the off-hand.