For some, there is only rage. In the ways of their people, in the fury of their passion, in the howl of battle, conflict is all these brutal souls know. Savages, hired muscle, masters of vicious martial techniques, they are not soldiers or professional warriors—they are the battle possessed, creatures of slaughter and spirits of war. Known as barbarians, these warmongers know little of training, preparation, or the rules of warfare; for them, only the moment exists, with the foes that stand before them and the knowledge that the next moment might hold their death. They possess a sixth sense in regard to danger and the endurance to weather all that might entail. These brutal warriors might rise from all walks of life, both civilized and savage, though whole societies embracing such philosophies roam the wild places of the world. Within barbarians storms the primal spirit of battle, and woe to those who face their rage.

Role: Barbarians excel in combat, possessing the martial prowess and fortitude to take on foes seemingly far superior to themselves. With rage granting them boldness and daring beyond that of most other warriors, barbarians charge furiously into battle and ruin all who would stand in their way.

Alignment: Any non-lawful

Hit Points: 12 per level

Starting Wealth: 3d6 × 10 gp (average 105gp.) In addition, each character begins play with an outfit worth 10 gp or less.

Class Skills

Barbarians receive 1 rank in the following skills; Acrobatics (Dex), Artisan (Int/Wis/Cha), Awareness (Wis), Endurance (Con), Feats of Strength (Str), Handle Animal (Cha), Intimidate (Cha), Knowledge (Nature) (Int), Ride (Dex), and Survival (Wis).

Skill Ranks Per Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Table: Barbarian
Level Base Attack Bonus Fort Save Ref Save Will Save Special
1st +1 +2 +0 +0 Rage, fast movement
2nd +2 +3 +0 +0 Rage power, uncanny dodge
3rd +3 +3 +1 +1 Trap sense +1
4th +4 +4 +1 +1 Rage power
5th +5 +4 +1 +1 Improved uncanny dodge
6th +6/+1 +5 +2 +2 Rage power, trap sense +2
7th +7/+2 +5 +2 +2 Damage reduction 1/—
8th +8/+3 +6 +2 +2 Rage power
9th +9/+4 +6 +3 +3 Trap sense +3
10th +10/+5 +7 +3 +3 Damage reduction 2/—, rage power
11th +11/+6/+1 +7 +3 +3 Greater rage
12th +12/+7/+2 +8 +4 +4 Rage power, trap sense +4
13th +13/+8/+3 +8 +4 +4 Damage reduction 3/—
14th +14/+9/+4 +9 +4 +4 Indomitable will, rage power
15th +15/+10/+5 +9 +5 +5 Trap sense +5
16th +16/+11/+6/+1 +10 +5 +5 Damage reduction 4/—, rage power
17th +17/+12/+7/+2 +10 +5 +5 Tireless rage
18th +18/+13/+8/+3 +11 +6 +6 Rage power, trap sense +6
19th +19/+14/+9/+4 +11 +6 +6 Damage reduction 5/—
20th +20/+15/+10/+5 +12 +6 +6 Mighty rage, rage power

Class Features

All of the following are class features of the barbarian.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency

Barbarians are proficient with simple weapons, and three weapon groups of the Barbarians choice (sword, polearm, axe, hammer, bow, pistol, or rifle). In addition to this they receive proficiency with a single exotic weapon of their choice. They are proficient with light and medium armor, as well as shields.

Fast Movement (Ex)

A Barbarian receives a +10 bonus to their land speed.

Rage (Ex)

At first level, Barbarians can unleash their inner rage as a free action. This grants a +4 morale bonus to Strength and Constitution, a -2 penalty to AC, +4 Stamina Points, and a +2 morale bonus to Will Saves. While raging the Barbarian cannot use Intelligence, Dexterity or Charisma based skill checks (excluding Acrobatics, Intimidate, and Ride).

The increase to Constitution grants the Barbarian temporary hit points equal to their new Constitution modifier multiplied by their Barbarian level. If the rage is ended and the bonus HP is lost, the Barbarian remains at its current HP even if reducing the bonus HP would make them fall unconscious or die.

Raging lasts until the end of an encounter/combat, and when ended the rage causes the Barbarian to become fatigued for a number of minutes equal to 10 minus half their Barbarian level (minimum of 1). This is negated at 17th level by Tireless Rage.

While fatigued they can enter a rage, however it only lasts for 1d4 + Constitution (before Rage) rounds and once ended they become exhausted. Barbarians cannot rage while exhausted. The exhaustion lasts for 1 hour.

Rage Powers (Ex)

As a barbarian gains levels, she learns to use her rage in new ways. Starting at 2nd level, a barbarian gains a rage power. She gains another rage power for every two levels of barbarian attained after 2nd level. A barbarian gains the benefits of rage powers only while raging, and some of these powers require the barbarian to take an action first. Unless otherwise noted, a barbarian cannot select an individual power more than once.

Any barbarian who meets the powers’ prerequisites can select and use rage powers. Totem rage powers grant powers related to a theme. A barbarian cannot select from more than one group of totem rage powers; for example, a barbarian who selects a beast totem rage power cannot later choose to gain any of the dragon totem rage powers (any rage power with “dragon totem” in its title).

  • A complete list of rage powers can be found here: Rage Powers

Uncanny Dodge (Ex)

At 2nd level, the Barbarian is unable to be caught flat-footed and doesn’t lose her Dexterity bonus against invisible opponents. She still loses her Dexterity bonus to AC when immobilized or against feint attacks.

If the Barbarian already possesses Uncanny Dodge from another class, she received Improved Uncanny Dodge instead.

Trap Sense (Ex)

At 3rd level, the Barbarian gains a +1 bonus to saves and dodge bonus to AC when faced with a trap. This bonus increases by +1 for every three levels thereafter.

Improved Uncanny Dodge (Ex)

At 5th level and higher, a barbarian can no longer be flanked. This defense denies a rogue the ability to sneak attack the barbarian by flanking her, unless the attacker has at least four more rogue levels than the target has barbarian levels.

If a character already has uncanny dodge (see above) from another class, the levels from the classes that grant uncanny dodge stack to determine the minimum rogue level required to flank the character.

Damage Reduction (Ex)

At 7th level, a barbarian gains damage reduction. Subtract 1 from the damage the barbarian takes each time she is dealt damage from a weapon or a natural attack. At 10th level, and every three barbarian levels thereafter (13th, 16th, and 19th level), this damage reduction rises by 1 point. Damage reduction can reduce damage to 0 but not below 0.

Greater Rage (Ex)

At 11th level, when a barbarian enters rage, the morale bonus to her Strength and Constitution increases to +6 and the morale bonus on her Will saves increases to +3.

Indomitable Will (Ex)

At 14th level the Barbarian is immune to mind-affecting effects, enchantments, and illusions as long as they’re raging. When not raging, they gain a +4 bonus to Will Saves against mind-affecting effects, enchantments, and illusions.

Tireless Rage (Ex)

Starting at 17th level, a barbarian no longer becomes fatigued at the end of her rage.

Mighty Rage (Ex)

At 20th level, the Barbarian’s bonuses when raging increase to +8 Strength and Constitution, and the bonus to Will Saves increases to +6. The barbarian gains DR 3/— or increases the value of any existing damage reduction by 3. In addition, she gains energy resistance to acid, cold, electricity, and fire equal to her DR/— value.

scroll to top