|Arcane Archer||An arcane spellcaster who draws upon ancient elven traditions to infuse his arrows with potent magical power.|
|Arcane Trickster||A troublemaker and a scoundrel who uses arcane magic to enhance her thievery and trickery.|
|Assassin||A remorseless murderer who kills for money and the sheer thrill of death-dealing.|
|Chronicler||An explorer at heart, the chronicler travels to distant, exotic lands to expand her knowledge of the world.|
|Dragon Disciple||An arcane spellcaster who has embraced his latent draconic heritage and, over the course of training and devotion, undergoes a partial transformation into a dragon.|
|Duelist||A swashbuckling swordfighter who relies upon grace, poise, and acrobatics to win the day.|
|Eldritch Knight||An arcane spellcaster who augments his magical skills with combat to create a deadly combination of weapons and magic.|
|Loremaster||A spellcaster who devotes his life to research and rumination upon the mysteries of the world.|
|Mystic Theurge||Equally devoted to divine and arcane magic, the mystic theurge combines both magical traditions into one incredibly diverse class.|
|Shadowdancer||A mysterious adventurer who walks the boundaries between the real world and the realm of shadows, and who can command shadows to do her bidding.|
If a prestige class requires 5 ranks in a skill and I have 6 ranks in that skill, do I still meet the requirements?
Yes, because skill ranks are inclusive: if you have 6 ranks in a skill, then you have 5 ranks in that skill, and therefore meet the “have 5 ranks in [this] skill” requirement. In the same way, if you have a BAB of +6, then you have a BAB of +5, and therefore meet the “have BAB +5” requirement. In the same way, if you have Str 15, then you have Str 13, and therefore meet the “Str 13” feat prerequisite for Power Attack. However, spellcasting ability is not inclusive: it is possible (mainly through the use of spell-like abilities) to be able to cast 3rd-level spells but not 2nd-level spells. If you can only cast 3rd-level spells, that does not meet the requirement of “able to cast 2nd-level spells.” Likewise, feat prerequisites are not inclusive, as it is possible for a creature to have a feat without meeting that feat’s prerequisites. For example, a ranger can select Precise Shot as a ranger bonus feat without having the Point Blank Shot feat; he does not meet the prerequisites for Far Shot (which has Point Blank Shot as a prerequisite) because he doesn’t actually have the Point Blank Shot feat, even though he has a feat that lists Point Blank Shot as a prerequisite.
Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook. Copyright 2009, Paizo Publishing, LLC; Author: Jason Bulmahn, based on material by Jonathan Tweet, Monte Cook, and Skip Williams.