Consecrator (Paladin Archetype)

The consecrator uses blessed symbols of her church to protect the innocent. Each rune she casts grants her arcane power to shield others from harm and to debilitate the wicked.

Rune Magic

Beginning at 4th level, a consecrator gains limited understanding of scripts, an esoteric form of magic that involves the creation and empowering of mystic symbols called ‘runes’. A consecrator is a lesser scribe, which determines the number of runic scripts the consecrator can learn and prepare each day, as well as how many scripts she can use. Refer to Table: Scripts Known (Lesser) to determine how many scripts she learns (and what level), as appropriate for her level. The Difficulty Class for a saving throw against a consecrator’s script is 10 + the script’s level + the consecrator’s Charisma modifier.

The consecrator uses the paladin script list.

Unlike a typical spellcaster that has spell slots each day, a consecrator can cast each script she prepares a number of times each day based on the level of the script, as shown in Table: Castings per Script (Lesser). In addition, she receives bonus scripts per day if she has a high Charisma score. These extra castings can be applied to any script she has prepared of the appropriate level.

A consecrator must choose and prepare her scripts ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and scribing her runes. While scribing, the consecrator decides which scripts to prepare. Once a script is written, it remains prepared until the consecrator chooses to replace it.

This ability replaces the paladin’s spell class feature. A consecrator does not gain her normal spell abilities and cannot activate spell trigger or spell completion items from the paladin spell list unless she uses Use Magic Device to do so.


All consecrators learn a number of fundamentals, scripts that are so simple that they require little effort to cast. At 4th level, a consecrator learns a fundamental of her choice. She continues to learn more fundamentals as she advances, as shown on Table: Scripts Known (Lesser) under ‘Fundamentals Known’. Unlike other runic scripts, a fundamental can be cast an unlimited number of times per day. While fundamentals can be overloaded like any other runic scripts, the magic is too weak to generate much energy: casting a fundamental does not grant the consecrator any runic charges.

Symbol of Consecration (Sp)

At 5th level, a consecrator gains the ability to emblazon her symbol upon the ground, sanctifying the area. She can cast consecrate as a spell-like ability, using her paladin level as her caster level and with no need for a material component. At 13th level, the penalty suffered by undead within the area increases to -2 (or -4 if the effect is centered on a site dedicated to her deity, as described in consecrate).

Additionally, at 5th level and every four levels thereafter, the consecrator chooses one creature type aside from undead (and subtype, where applicable), similar to when choosing a ranger’s favored enemy. Evil creatures of that type are affected by her symbol of consecration as if they were undead.

The consecrator can use this ability once per day, plus an additional time per day for every four levels past 5th. This replaces divine bond.

Healing Glyph (Su)

At 6th level, whenever the consecrator uses her lay on hands ability to heal a creature other than herself, if she has any runic charges available, she may transfer one of those charges to the touched creature. A creature can have no more than one charge granted to it at a time from this ability. She may still spend the runic charge(s) she has granted to another creature (as if she still had them herself) and they count against her maximum amount of charges she may have. A charge granted to a creature with this ability fades away and is lost after a number of rounds equal to half the consecrator’s level.

The touched creature gains a +2 sacred bonus to a specific check or ability depending on the design of the runic charge used, as follows, as long as that charge remains on them:

  • Alteration: The bonus applies to skill checks.
  • Creation: The bonus applies to AC and CMD.
  • Destruction: The bonus applies to damage rolls.
  • Invocation: The bonus applies to Fortitude saves.
  • Manipulation: The bonus applies to Reflex saves.
  • Revelation: The bonus applies to Will saves.

At 12th and 18th levels, the bonus granted increases by +1, to a maximum of +4. This replaces the mercies gained at 6th, 12th, and 18th levels.

Writ of Protection (Su)

At 11th level, the radius of the consecrator’s symbol of consecration increases to 30 feet. As long as she is within the area of her symbol, she can treat all other creatures in its area as being within her reach for the purpose of targeting them with her lay on hands ability. This replaces aura of justice.

Symbol of the Champion (Su)

At 20th level, as long as the consecrator is standing within the area of her symbol of consecration, she treats any allied creature within the symbol as being within range of all of her paladin auras (such as aura of courage), regardless of their actual position. This replaces holy champion.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Akashic Tales: Gifts of Winter Pageantry, © 2021 James Ray; Author James Ray

scroll to top