A mindblade blends psychic talent and martial skill to lethal effect. By forming weapons with her mind, she always has the right tool for any situation.
A mindblade casts spells from the magus spell list as psychic spells. She can cast any spell she knows without preparing it ahead of time. To learn or cast a spell, a mindblade must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell’s level. The saving throw DC to resist a mindblade’s spell is equal to 10 + the spell’s level + the mindblade’s Intelligence modifier.
Like other spellcasters, a mindblade can cast only a certain number of spells of each spell level per day. She knows the same number of spells and receives the same number of spells slots per day as a bard of her magus level, and knows and uses 0-level knacks as a bard uses cantrips. In addition, she receives bonus spells per day if she has a high Intelligence score (see Table 1–3 on page 17 of the Core Rulebook).
At 5th level and every 3 levels thereafter, a mindblade can learn a new spell in place of one she already knows, using the same rules as a bard. In effect, the mindblade loses the old spell in exchange for the new one. The new spell’s level must be the same as that of the spell being exchanged, and the new spell must be at least 1 level lower than the highest-level spell the mindblade can cast.
A mindblade need not prepare her spells in advance.
She can cast any magus spell she knows at any time, assuming she has not yet used up her allotment of spells per day for the spell’s level.
This ability replaces the magus’s spellcasting.
A mindblade gains a psychic pool, similar to a normal magus’s arcane pool. At 1st level, a mindblade can expend 1 point from her psychic pool as a standard action to manifest a light melee weapon of her choice, formed from psychic energy. By spending 2 points, the mindblade can manifest a one-handed melee weapon, and by spending 3 points, she can manifest a two-handed melee weapon (but not a double weapon). This psychic weapon can last indefinitely, but it vanishes if it leaves the mindblade’s hand. The mindblade can dismiss a held psychic weapon as a free action. When a psychic weapon vanishes, the mindblade regains the psychic energy used to create it. She can maintain only one weapon at a time.
At 1st level, a psychic weapon counts as a magic weapon of whatever type the mindblade selected, with a +1 enhancement bonus. At 3rd level and every 3 levels thereafter, the weapon’s enhancement bonus increases by 1, up to maximum of +5 at 12th level. Starting at 5th level, the mindblade can add any of the weapon special abilities listed in the arcane pool class feature in place of these bonuses, although the weapon must maintain at least a +1 bonus to benefit from any weapon special abilities. At 15th and 18th levels, the weapon gains an additional +1 enhancement bonus, which the mindblade can spend only on weapon special abilities.
This ability replaces arcane pool, and counts as arcane pool for the purpose of feats, abilities, and class features.
At 4th level, the mindblade gains access to an expanded spell list. She adds two spells from the psychic class spell list to her magus spell list as magus spells of the same spell level. These must be spells of levels the mindblade is able to cast. At 7th, 11th, 14th, and 19th levels, she adds two more psychic class spells to her spell list, following the same restrictions.
When a mindblade takes the spell blending arcana, she gains spells from the psychic class spell list instead of the wizard spell list.
This ability replaces spell recall, knowledge pool, improved spell recall, greater spell combat, and greater spell access.
At 7th level, a mindblade can maintain two psychic weapons at a time or a psychic double weapon, though each weapon (or each end of a double weapon) has an enhancement bonus 1 lower than normal. Starting at 12th level, each of the two psychic weapons (or each end of a double weapon) instead has an enhancement bonus 2 lower than normal. When using two-weapon fighting with two psychic weapons or a psychic double weapon, the mindblade can use her spell combat ability as though she had a hand free.
This ability replaces medium armor.
At 8th level, a mindblade can manifest a psychic weapon as a swift action.
This ability replaces improved spell combat.
At 13th level, a mindblade can manifest two psychic weapons with the same action. She must pay the cost for both weapons. Also, when wielding a weapon two-handed, she can use her spell combat ability as though she had a hand free.
This ability replaces heavy armor.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Occult Adventures © 2015, Paizo Inc.; Authors: John Bennett, Logan Bonner, Robert Brookes, Jason Bulmahn, Ross Byers, John Compton, Adam Daigle, Jim Groves, Thurston Hillman, Eric Hindley, Brandon Hodge, Ben McFarland, Erik Mona, Jason Nelson, Tom Phillips, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Thomas M. Reid, Alex Riggs, Robert Schwalb, Mark Seifter, Russ Taylor, and Steve Townshend.