Champions of the natural world, the tajiya samurai dedicate their lives to ridding the world of the blight of unnatural creatures. Originally an order of samurai dedicated to fighting the oni armies, today the tajiya stand resolute against all manners of supernatural foes. The majority of tajiya never swear allegiance to any lord, so as to avoid any conflicts of duty. They thus wander the lands as ronin, seeking their enemies wherever they may be found.

The tajiya is an archetype of the samurai class.

Class Skills

The tajiya’s class skills (and the key ability for each skill) are Bluff (Cha), Climb (Str), Craft (Int), Diplomacy (Cha), Handle Animal (Cha), Intimidate (Cha), Knowledge (planes), Knowledge (religion), Ride (Dex) and Sense Motive (Wis).

Tajiya’s Challenge (Ex)

When the tajiya uses her challenge ability against an aberration, outsider or undead, all bonuses she gains from the challenge ability increase by 50%, rounded down. For example, a 5th level tajiya belonging to the Order of the Warrior will normally deal an extra +5 points of damage against challenged foes, but against an aberration, outsider or undead, this same samurai would deal an extra +7 damage instead, and would gain DR 3/– against attacks that selfsame foe.

This ability replaces mount.

The Hunter’s Eye (Ex)

An order of the tajiya samurai gains a bonus equal to half her tajiya level on Knowledge (arcana, planes and religion) checks made to identify aberrations, outsiders and undead creatures. She gains a similar bonus to Perception and Sense Motive rolls made against such creatures.

This ability replaces resolve.

Tajiya Honor (Ex)

Like all samurai, a tajiya values honor, but she gains Honor in a manner slightly different than other samurai. A tajiya who defeats an undead, outsider or aberration with a CR 2 greater than her character level may gain 1 Honor. Likewise, failing to overcome such a foe (either through allowing the foe to escape or being defeated in combat), if that foe has a CR 1 less than her character level, costs the tajiya a point of Honor. As normal, a tajiya’s maximum Honor is equal to 1/2 her class level (minimum 1 at 1st level).

Honor’s Blade (Ex)

Beginning at 3rd level, the tajiya may add her Honor score to all rolls made to confirm a critical hit.

This ability replaces weapon expertise.

A Pox on the Blight (Su)

A 4th level tajiya can infuse her attacks with mystical energy allowing them to more effectively fight their dedicated foes. When challenging an aberration, outsider or undead, the attacks of the tajiya ignore an amount of DR equal to 1/2 the tajiya’ class level. Furthermore, if the creature has the regeneration ability, a successful strike by the tajiya suppresses this ability for one round.

This ability replaces mounted archer.

Tajiya’s Banner (Ex)

At 5th level, a tajiya’s banner becomes a symbol of resistance to her allies and companions. As long as the tajiya’s banner is clearly visible, all allies within 60 feet receive a +1 morale bonus on saving throws against spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities from the tajiya’s dedicated foes (aberrations, outsiders and undead).

This ability replaces banner.

Tajiya’s Greater Banner (Ex)

At 14th level, a tajiya’s banner becomes a rallying call to her allies. The bonus to saving throws granted by the banner increases to +2. In addition, while her banner is displayed, the tajiya can spend a standard action to wave the banner through the air, granting all allies within 60 feet an additional saving throw against any one spell or effect that is targeting them that was applied by one of the tajiya’s foes (aberrations, outsiders and undead). This save is made at the original DC. Spells and effects that do not allow saving throws are unaffected by this ability. An ally cannot benefit from this ability more than once per day.

This ability replaces greater banner.

Section 15: Copyright Notice
The Way of the Samurai copyright 2012, Steven D. Russell and Michael Tumey, all rights reserved; Author Jonathan McAnulty
scroll to top