Fire Lord

“Fire is my weapon.”

The fire lord is both a warrior and a wielder of fire magic, blending the arts of swordplay, archery and scorching fire upon the battlefield. Their studies and innate talents often impart them with an impulsive, emotional personality, easily aroused to anger.

Hit Die: d8


To qualify to become a fire lord, a character must fulfill all of the following criteria:

Class Skills

The class skills for this class (and the key ability for each skill) are Acrobatics (Dex), Appraise (Int), Climb (Str), Craft (Int), Knowledge (all skills, taken individually) (Int), Linguistics (Int), Profession (Wis), Handle Animal (Cha), Intimidate (Cha), Ride (Dex), Spellcraft (Int), Survival (Wis), and Use Magic Device (Cha).

Skill Ranks at Each Level: 3 + Int modifier

Table: The Fire Lord
Class Level BAB Fort Save Ref Save Will Save Special Spells per Day
1st +1 +1 +0 +1 Bonus spell +1 level of existing class
2nd +2 +1 +0 +1 Fire Magic, Fire Power 1/day  
3rd +3 +2 +1 +2 Bonus spell +1 level of existing class
4th +3 +2 +1 +2 Command Fire Elementals  
5th +4 +3 +1 +3 Bonus spell +1 level of existing class
6th +5 +3 +2 +3 Fire Power 2/day  
7th +6 +4 +2 +4 Bonus spell +1 level of existing class
8th +6 +4 +2 +4 Flaming Burst Weapon  
9th +7 +5 +3 +5 Bonus spell +1 level of existing class
10th +8 +5 +3 +5 Fire Power 3/day  

Class Features

All of the following are class features of the fire lord prestige class.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency

Fire lords gain no new weapon or armor proficiencies.

Bonus Spell

At every odd level, the fire lord learns a bonus spell of any level he can cast, chosen from the fire lord spell list.

Fire Magic (Ex)

At 2nd level, the fire lord now casts the following spells as if he were two levels higher: continual flame, delayed blast fireball, fireball, fire shield, fire storm, fire trap, balor wings*, flame arrow, flame blade, flaming sphere, flame wave*, flaming weapon*, greater fire shield*, greater incendiary cloud*, heat metal, incendiary cloud, infernal pillar of fire*, produce flame, protection from energy, pyre of flames*, rain of fire*, ravenous fire*, resist energy*, superheating flames*, wall of fire*, wall of living fire*.

Fire Power (Sp)

At 2nd level the fire lord gains supernatural fire-related magic power. Once per day, he may use one of the following spell-like abilities at his own caster level: burning hands, fire gems*, fire shield, flaming sphere, flaming weapon*, heat metal, protection from energy (fire), wall of fire. Each day, at dawn, he must choose which ability will be available that day. At 6th and 10th level, the number of times per day he may use this ability increases.

Command Fire Elementals (Su)

At 4th level, the fire lords gains the supernatural ability to command fire elementals. This ability functions the same way as a command undead spell, but works only on fire elementals. The caster level is equal to the fire lord’s prestige class level. This ability is usable once per day per three fire lord levels.

Flaming Burst Weapon (Su)

At 8th level the fire lord gains the supernatural ability to temporarily transform his sword or bow into a flaming burst weapon. The weapon retains any other bonuses and powers it already had (except any water-related powers), and becomes a flaming burst weapon for 1 round per fire lord level. The ability may be used up to three times per day.


At every other fire lord level, the character gains new spells per day as if he had also gained a level in a spellcasting class he belonged to before adding the prestige class (either sorcerer or wizard). He does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained, except for an increased effective level of spellcasting. If a character had levels of both sorcerer and wizard before becoming an fire lord, he must decide to which class he adds the new level for purposes of determining spells per day. Note that even though a fire lord has armor proficiency due to his fighter levels, he still suffers a chance of spell failure when wearing armor.

When a fire lord gains new spells, he must choose them from the fire lord spell list. If he already knows all the spells of a given level on the list, he may choose spells from the wizard/sorcerer list, but is barred from selecting water spells.

In addition to the spells listed below, a fire lord may learn any arcane wizard or sorcerer spell with the Fire descriptor.

Fire Lord Spell List
Level Spell(s)
0 (Cantrips) all level 0 arcane spells, except water-related spells.
1st burning hands, endure elements, produce flame, summon monster I (fire creatures only)
2nd continual flame, heat metal, flame blade, flaming sphere, infernal pillar of fire*, resist energy, summon monster II (fire creatures only)
3rd fireball, flame arrow, protection from energy, summon monster Iii (fire creatures only)
4th balor wings*, fire shield, fire trap, flaming weapon*, rain of fire*, summon monster IV (fire creatures only), vein of magma*, wall of fire
5th flame wave*, magma spray*, summon monster V (fire creatures only)
6th fire gems*, greater fire shield*, ravenous fire*, summon monster VI (fire creatures only), wall of living fire*
7th delayed blast fireball, fire storm, magma wave*, plane shift, summon monster Vii (fire creatures only) 8th level –incendiary cloud, summon monster VIII (fire creatures only), sunburst, superheating flames*, volcanic eruption*
9th elemental swarm, greater incendiary cloud*, pyre of flames*, meteor swarm, shapechange (fire creatures only), summon monster IX (fire creatures only)
Section 15: Copyright Notice

Grimoire Viperian: A Tome of Exotic Lore Copyright 2021 Magic Skull Games Author: Steven F. Johnson

scroll to top