Shark Incarnate

It should come as no surprise that many of the races beneath the waves have sought to emulate the shark’s feral grace. Warriors wear armor of shark hide; weapons are made from the monster’s teeth; shamans will even wear the beast’s great jaws as holy relics. Despite all of this, none have mastered the shark’s frightful power like the shark incarnate- a psychic warrior who has become one with the ocean’s most feared creature.

Not surprisingly, it was carchardian psychic warriors who developed this psionic path. It is also the devil sharks who are its foremost proponent. However, as with anything of power and utility, shark incarnates can now be found in the hands of many determined psychic warriors. Despite the spreading of this knowledge, shark incarnates remain rare. It takes a truly risk-taking soul to dare harnessing such unbridled strength and bloodthirsty passion.

Role: Shark incarnates are melee monsters. They revel in each swing of their weapons, the scent of fear rising from their foes, and the way the light leaves the eyes of a fallen enemy. Riding such raw animalistic energy often shapes shark incarnates into berserkers on the field of battle. They are driven to lay low all who oppose them. Psychic warriors are the only class that can mature into a shark incarnate, but the addition of barbarian or fighter levels are natural evolutions of this prestige class.

Hit Die: d10


To qualify to become a shark incarnate, a character must fulfill all of the following criteria:

Alignment: Shark incarnates may choose any alignment. Many tend towards chaotic. Simply put, the adrenaline their psionic powers call forth tends to overwhelm reasonable thoughts.

Class: Must be a psychic warrior who has achieved use of both trance and maneuver in the Feral Warrior Path.

Skills: Survival 5 ranks

Class Skills

The shark incarnate’s class skills (and the key ability for each) are Acrobatics (Dex), Autohypnosis (Wis), Climb (Str), Intimidate (Cha), Perception (Wis), Ride (Dex), and Survival (Wis).

Skill Points at Each Level: 4 + Int modifier.

Table: Shark Incarnate
Level Base Attack Bonus Fort Save Ref Save Will Save Special Power Points/Day Powers Known/Max Power Level
1st +1 +1 +1 +0 Bloody jaws
2nd +2 +1 +1 +0 Blood frenzy 2 +1 level of existing class
3rd +3 +2 +2 +1 Relentless 5 +1 level of existing class
4th +4 +2 +2 +1 Savage the fallen 9 +1 level of existing class
5th +5 +3 +3 +1 Never-ending hunger

Class Features

The following are class features of the shark incarnate prestige class.

Weapon and Armor Proficiency

Shark incarnates gain no proficiency with any weapon or armor.

Power Points/Day

A shark incarnate can manifest powers. His ability to manifest powers is limited by the power points he has available. His base daily allotment of power points is given on Table 3-4: The Shark Incarnate. In addition, he receives bonus power points per day if he has a high Wisdom score.

His race may also provide bonus power points per day, as may certain feats and items. If a shark incarnate has power points from a different class, those points are pooled together and usable to manifest powers from either class. Bonus power points from having a high ability score can be gained only for the character’s highest psionic class.

Powers Known and Maximum Power Level

At every level indicated, a shark incarnate gains access to new powers as if he had also gained a level in whatever manifesting class he belonged to before he added the prestige class. He does not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained (bonus feats, metapsionic or item creation feats, and so on). This essentially means that he adds the level of shark incarnate to the level of whatever manifesting class the character has, then determines powers known, manifester level, and maximum power level accordingly.

Bloody Jaws (Su)

At 1st level the shark incarnate’s bite of the barracuda (aka Bite of the wolf) power becomes more shark-like. The power always deals at least Large damage (2d6). Also, in addition to the power‘s normal augmentation powers, a shark incarnate may spend 3 power points to deal 1 point of bleed damage. This last augmentation may be upgraded (6 power points for 2 bleed damage, 9 for 3, and so on).

Blood Frenzy (Su)

At 2nd level, the shark incarnate becomes even more vicious under certain circumstances. Whenever a creature is suffering bleed or has 10 or fewer hit points remaining, the shark incarnate doubles their strength modifier when calculating melee damage against that foe.

Additionally, any time the shark incarnate makes a successful critical hit, he may, as a free action, make another melee attack of the same kind that caused the critical.

Relentless (Su)

At 3rd level, the shark incarnates drive and passion for battle allows him to ignore a wide range of debilitating effects. As many times per day as he has levels in this prestige class, a shark incarnate who fails a Fortitude or Will saving throw may immediately reroll the failed save this time adding his Str bonus to the result.

Though a shark incarnate may be able to do this multiple times per day, he may only reroll a particular failed save once.

Savage the Fallen (Su)

At 4th level, the shark incarnate gains one of the grislier aspects of its namesake. Anytime he fells a foe, a shark incarnate can use a move action to psionically cannibalize his enemies remaining life force. Doing so grants the shark incarnate 15 temporary hit points.

The shark incarnate must use this power the round, or the round immediately following, his enemy was reduced to 0 hit points. This kills the victim outright.

Never-Ending Hunger (Su)

At 5th level gains the ability to fight beyond wounds that would normally fell a warrior. Once a shark incarnate obtains this level, wounds that would take him below 0 hit points are now subtracted from his remaining power point pool.

For example, if a shark incarnate had 3 hit points with a power point pool of 10, and he took 7 points of damage, he would suffer a reduction in 2 hit points leaving him with 1 hit point. The remaining damage would be dealt to his power point total (reducing it to 5). Once the power point pool is gone, hit points are damaged as normal.

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Cerulean Seas: Waves of Thought © 2012, Alluria Publishing; Authors: Emily Ember Kubisz, Sam G. Hing, & Matthew A. Cicci.

scroll to top