You have a vice-like grip when you strangle targets.
Benefit: You do not provoke an attack of opportunity when performing a strangle combat maneuver (see below). In addition, you receive a +2 bonus on checks made to strangle a foe. You also receive a +2 bonus to your CMD whenever an opponent tries to strangle you.
As a standard action, you can attempt to strangle a foe, slowly squeezing its life out. If you do not have the Improved Strangle feat, or a similar ability, attempting to strangle a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to strangle a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll.
If successful, both you and the target gain the grappled condition. Although both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the strangle, release the strangle as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target. If you do not release the strangle, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold. If your target does not break the strangle, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on strangle checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds. Unlike a grapple, you cannot perform any other actions while maintaining a strangle. The effects of strangle function exactly like the rules for drowning. Attempting a strangle maneuver on creatures that do not breathe, such as undead and constructs, is treated as a grapple.
Section 15: Copyright Notice – Strategists and Tacticians
Strategists and Tacticians. Copyright 2010, 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming; Author Ryan Costello, Jr.