Equipment >Weapons >Weapon Descriptions >

Sword, Bastard



60 PDFs. $30. Pretty simple.

For the entire month of February, you can save over 90% on an array of adventures and accessories, bringing you adventures ranging from 1st level to 9th level, monsters from CR 1 to CR 21, magic items from common everyday treasures to mighty artifacts, ready-to-use creatures and characters, and much, much more, all with amazing artwork, delightful design, and flat-out Pathfinder fun! That's nearly 1500 pages of content for only $30!

GET THIS NOW BEFORE IT'S GONE. (you've been warned!)

A bastard sword is about 4 feet in length, making it too large to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A character can use a bastard sword two-handed as a martial weapon.

FAQ

If a weapon is wielded two-handed as a martial weapon and one-handed with an exotic weapon proficiency, can I wield it one-handed without the exotic proficiency at a –4 penalty?

No.

Note that normally you can’t wield a two-handed weapon in one hand. A bastard sword is an exception to that rule that you can’t wield a two-handed weapon in one hand, but you must have special training to use the bastard sword this way. Without that special training, wielding a bastard sword one-handed is as impossible as wielding a greatsword one-handed. (The same goes for other weapons with this one-handed exotic exception, such as the dwarven waraxe.)

[Source]

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook. Copyright 2009, Paizo Publishing, LLC; Author: Jason Bulmahn, based on material by Jonathan Tweet, Monte Cook, and Skip Williams.