A vardatch is a cruel implement of war consists of wooden or metal handle, onto which is tied a saw-toothed blade that easily breaks skin and tears flesh. It’s construction makes it hard to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A character can use a vardatch two-handed as a martial weapon.
If a weapon is wielded two-handed as a martial weapon and one-handed with an exotic weapon proficiency, can I wield it one-handed without the exotic proficiency at a –4 penalty?
Note that normally you can’t wield a two-handed weapon in one hand. A vardatch, like the bastard sword, is an exception to that rule that you can’t wield a two-handed weapon in one hand, but you must have special training to use the vardatch this way. Without that special training, wielding a vardatch one-handed is as impossible as wielding a greatsword one-handed. (The same goes for other weapons with this one-handed exotic exception, such as the dwarven waraxe.)
The Book of Many Things. © 2018, Samurai Sheepdog; author Kevin Glusing