Home >Classes >Prestige Classes >

Core Prestige Classes

Table: Core Prestige Classes
Prestige Class Summary
Arcane Archer An arcane spellcaster who draws upon ancient elven traditions to infuse his arrows with potent magical power.
Arcane Trickster A troublemaker and a scoundrel who uses arcane magic to enhance her thievery and trickery.
Assassin A remorseless murderer who kills for money and the sheer thrill of death-dealing.
Chronicler An explorer at heart, the chronicler travels to distant, exotic lands to expand her knowledge of the world.
Dragon Disciple An arcane spellcaster who has embraced his latent draconic heritage and, over the course of training and devotion, undergoes a partial transformation into a dragon.
Duelist A swashbuckling swordfighter who relies upon grace, poise, and acrobatics to win the day.
Eldritch Knight An arcane spellcaster who augments his magical skills with combat to create a deadly combination of weapons and magic.
Loremaster A spellcaster who devotes his life to research and rumination upon the mysteries of the world.
Mystic Theurge Equally devoted to divine and arcane magic, the mystic theurge combines both magical traditions into one incredibly diverse class.
Shadowdancer A mysterious adventurer who walks the boundaries between the real world and the realm of shadows, and who can command shadows to do her bidding.
FAQ

If a prestige class requires 5 ranks in a skill and I have 6 ranks in that skill, do I still meet the requirements?

Yes, because skill ranks are inclusive: if you have 6 ranks in a skill, then you have 5 ranks in that skill, and therefore meet the “have 5 ranks in [this] skill” requirement. In the same way, if you have a BAB of +6, then you have a BAB of +5, and therefore meet the “have BAB +5” requirement. In the same way, if you have Str 15, then you have Str 13, and therefore meet the “Str 13” feat prerequisite for Power Attack. However, spellcasting ability is not inclusive: it is possible (mainly through the use of spell-like abilities) to be able to cast 3rd-level spells but not 2nd-level spells. If you can only cast 3rd-level spells, that does not meet the requirement of “able to cast 2nd-level spells.” Likewise, feat prerequisites are not inclusive, as it is possible for a creature to have a feat without meeting that feat’s prerequisites. For example, a ranger can select Precise Shot as a ranger bonus feat without having the Point Blank Shot feat; he does not meet the prerequisites for Far Shot (which has Point Blank Shot as a prerequisite) because he doesn’t actually have the Point Blank Shot feat, even though he has a feat that lists Point Blank Shot as a prerequisite.

[Source]

Section 15: Copyright Notice

Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook. Copyright 2009, Paizo Publishing, LLC; Author: Jason Bulmahn, based on material by Jonathan Tweet, Monte Cook, and Skip Williams.